Two nights ago I was watching an episode of “The Simpsons.” The episode was about the time when Homer became the voice of

The Itchy & Scratchy & Poochie Show

The Itchy & Scratchy & Poochie Show (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

the new talking dog on the show “Itchy and Scratchy.” This particular episode aired for the first time in 1997. At one point, the Comic Book Guy

Comic Book Guy announces that Springfield is i...

Comic Book Guy announces that Springfield is in 299th place on a list of the 300 most livable cities, with East St Louis being in 300th place. In an interview following the episode’s broadcast, a statement by writer Matt Selman regarding East St Louis sparked controversy. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

talks about how he will log onto the internet to trash Homer’s new gig on his blog. The word “blog” was still a confusing four letter word in 1997. How far we’ve come.

Blog is now a mainstream part of our society here in 2012. I can post to blogs from my mobile phone that has 3G internet. I can tweet my opinions to the world simply by moving my thumbs around. I can let my voice be heard in a million different ways now. To think we used to have share our phone lines with our family just to use dial up internet. Kids, ask your parents what dial up was.

Being a journalist isn’t about getting sources anymore. It’s not about being the savviest writer. It’s not about being at the right place at the right time. It’s about being all of these things at one. And, most importantly, being the fastest.

Everything now is up-to-the-second. The two Apps that come to my head first are the Word Press application and the MePorter application. Word Press isn’t just for journalists. Anyone can use it. But the mobile application for the blogging giant is impressive.

The Word Press application reminds of the device I use it on—my iPhone. It has its complications and it takes a minute to learn it. But it’s still easy to use.

I can blog about whatever it is I’m seeing wherever and whenever I want. I can post a photo or a video of it, too.

The “Meporter” application is much more tailored for journalists. The application can tell you about events taking place near you. It can show you what others near you are talking about. It also give you the capabilities of posting photos or videos.

I’m not sure if Meporter will ever catch on the same way other social media sites have. But I do think it has use.

Like I said earlier, being the fastest to something is of the up most importance. Meporter can give you a head start. Sure, it might not always work. But if it works even just once to produce a more meaningful, insightful, story, then its worth it.

One of the social media applications I wasn’t particularly impressed was “Storify.” The website was made by journalists, for journalists.

My problem with this is that I feel like it gives reporters an unfair capability. Sure, most journalists would love a story that writes itself. We’d all love to surf the internet, read some tweets and then call it a day. But that just isn’t fair.

If there’s a murder somewhere in Chicago. I can use Storify, via Twitter, to see eye witness accounts. I can post those tweets to my Storify Page. I can record a quick memo about with SoundcCloud.

Storify could have some usefulness too, though. In a way, I feel like Storify is Twittter beyond 140 characters. It can give you a more well rounded view of a story. It’s a one-stop-shop for audio, video and print. It also has one quality that we all love about social media; anyone can use it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About tylerchristopher

Chicago sports guru and media aficionado.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

